Uncategorized

Stonebar Restaurant: Meadowbank, NSW

2016-06-10 15.58.17

A leisurely Friday afternoon brought me the Stonebar Restaurant in Meadowbank, NSW.  This little gem is tucked away in the Sydney suburb of Meadowbank and provides lovely views of the Parramatta River.

It is great to see more restaurants indicating which menu items are gluten free.  I opted for a set two course menu and chose a delicious dish of seared scallops for my entree.

2016-06-10 15.52.09

For the main, I opted for the grilled salmon.  One can always judge a good seafood restaurant by the quality of the salmon.  It was cooked to perfection, medium rare (to truly enjoy the cut) and with none of that overbearing ‘fishy’ taste you may have with lower quality produce.  Arriving on a bed of chat potatoes, these are easily pushed aside if you are strict with a paleo or ketogenic mode of eating.

20160610_142017

My dining partner chose the grilled chicken breast.  The only gluten containing element I could find was the dijon sauce.  Not significant enough to keep me from tasting a morsel, and boy was that delicious!

2016-06-10 15.55.26

Another way in which I judge a good restaurant is by the quality of the coffee.  My beverage of choice is the full bodied macchiato.  The small amount of milk froth makes the macciato a much more delicate and richer version of an expresso.  It is a good midway point for those who are entering the paleo realm.

2016-06-10 16.36.45

Only a handful of restaurants or cafes I have visited have produced a macchiato that has excited me.  I can add Stonegrill to that list.  This place knows how to make a good coffee and they are proud of it!

Alright, I admit we did succumb to dessert.  No excuses, just  the knowledge that a smart dinner and crazy workout awaits us next.  More on the workout in the next post.

Thank you, Stonebar.  We’ll be back!

Leave a Reply

